top of page

Arrival & Adapting

Arrived in China! I've spent 3 days in Shanghai, and 2 days in Zheng Zhou so far. I feel like I have adapted much quicker than I expected. They give you a lot of free time, which I don't know what to do then, but time flies quickly when I work on my Chinese workbooks with music. I had so much fun with Jenny and Peter in Shanghai. I spent the evening and night time, including dinner and time in hotel with Jenny, and morning and afternoon time including lunch and sightseeing with Peter. Shanghai looked more like a building forest than I thought, and there were much more people than I expected. Because in New Zealand, even Auckland, which is the city with the most population in New Zealand, I did not get a chance to go to a place with so many people and shops, the time spent in Shanghai is more memorable. The 3 days in Shanghai went very quickly. I couldn't even say goodbye to Jenny properly, because the taxi left when she was still inside the hotel checking out. I felt very uncomfortable on the way to Zheng Zhou because of that. Later, when I finally got WIFI at school, I Wechatted her quickly. I felt sorry. We promised to continue to talk to each other even when I am back in New Zealand, and hoped that we will be able to meet again one day. I feel like I have made a very good friend. With Peter, I felt difficult to be close straight away. But when we saw an ANIME store in a well known shopping street, we became close to each other very quickly. He says he likes One Piece. I love One Piece too. It was difficult doing nothing in the train for 5 hours. I wanted to sleep but I had nothing to lean against so I just listened to music and play games. I love how in China, everywhere, there is a charging socket to charge your devices. Very convenient. I hope New Zealand had this too. But the toilets were too... dirty. In the school dorm, I am staying with 2 Italian girls. In the room next to ours, there is one male student from Switzerland and another male student from Thailand. There is another room with two other female students, from Thailand and Italy. Everyone is very lively, talkative, and loves to go outside. Very outgoing. Everyone is good at Chinese. They say that they have been here for 1 month, and is staying for another 9 months. They are already doing book 3 for the workbook. I only received it today so I am only at book 1. I am planning on finishing it all before Saturday so I can concentrated on book 2 so I can catch up. I went to my class, which is room 4, and introduced myself in front of the class. Everyone was very nice and welcomed me into the classroom. I was asked to write my name on the bored in Chinese, but I made a mistake and realised after I wrote it. It was very embarrassing. Everything is good so far. Eating is kind of annoying because I can either eat at the school canteen, which there is too many students, or go outside the school to buy food, but I cannot be bothered. Maybe I will loose weight here. I went out and bought some bread to eat tomorrow for breakfast. From tomorrow, I attend classes. My first class is at 2:30pm, English. Looking forward to it!

드디어 중국에 도착했다. 상하이에서 3일을 보내고 학교에서 생활한지 2일 째다. 생각보다 잘 적응 했고 힘들지도 않다. 여가 시간이 많아서 자주 심심하지만 음악을 들으며 중국어 문제집을 풀면 시간이 빨리 간다. 상하이에서 Jenny 언니랑 Peter 오빠랑 아주 재미있게 지내고 왔다. Jenny 언니랑 주로 저녁 시간과 호텔에서 같이 시간을 보냈고, Peter 오빠와는 낮 시간에 점심과 관광을 같이 했다. 상하이는 생각보다 아주 빌딩 숲이었고, 사람들은 상상 그 이상으로 많았다. 뉴질랜드, 심지어 사람이 가장 많다는 오클랜드에서도 이렇게 사람들이 많고, 쇼핑 할수 있는 가게도 많은 곳에서 마음대로 다닐수 있는 기회가 없었기에 더 특별하고 기억에 남는거 같다. 상하이에서 3일은 엄청 빨리 갔다. Jenny 언니랑 인사도 제대로 못 했다, 택시가 그냥 가버려서. 나중에 학교에서 와이파이를 잡자마자 연락을 했는데 많이 미안했다. 계속 연락도 하고 언젠간 다시 만나기를 기원했다. 아주 좋은 친구를 사귄거 같다. Peter 오빠는 조금 낯을 가려서 친해지기 힘들었지만, 상하이에 있는 유명한 쇼핑 골목을 같이 다니다 애니메이션 가게 발견 한 후, 둘 다 일본 애니메이션을 좋아한다는걸 안 후 아주 급격히 친해졌다. 원피스가 제일 좋다고 한다. 나돈데. 기차를 혼자서 5시간 동안 타는것도 아주 힘들었다. 자고 싶었는데 복도 쪽이었고 자세도 영 그래서 그냥 노래만 왕창 들었다. 게임도 조금 했다. 중국엔 기차에도 자리 마다 다 충전 할수 있게 만들어놨다. 놀라웠다, 뉴질랜드도 이랬으면. 근데 화장실이 영... 너무 지저분 했다. 학교 기숙사에선 이탈리아 여자 애들 2명이랑 지낸다. 옆방에는 스위스에서 온 남자 애 한명, 태국에서 온 남자 애 한명 있다. 여학생이 두명 더 있다, 태국 애랑 이탈리아 애. 다들 매우 밝고, 말 많고, 놀러 다니는 걸 좋아한다. 중국어는 다들 잘 한다. 벌써 책 3번 이라는데. 난 오늘 받아서 아직 1번 한다. 내일 안에 다 끝내고 2번도 열심히 공부해서 얼른 따라잡고 싶다. 오늘 내 반인 4반에 가서 자기소개를 했는데, 칠판에 이름을 쓰는데 잘 못 써서 다들 웃었다. 조금 창피했다. 근데 다들 착한거 같아서 다행이다. 지금 까진 만족이다. 밥 먹는게 조금 귀찮은데 학교 앞에 싼 제과점이 있어서 다행이다. 아까 나가서 아침에 먹을 빵을 사왔다. 내일부터 제대로 수업 시작인데, 2시 반에 영어, 첫 수업이다. 기대된다!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page