top of page

Host Family

It's already been 2 weeks and a bit in China. Now that I have met my host family, I feel like I've adapted to this place completely. On the 4th day in Zheng Zhou, I went to meet my host family that will take care of me for the weekends of the 3 months in China with my host brother, Yu Xuan. My first impression on them was like, meeting a celebrity. This is because I only saw them in photos, and never thought that I could meet them. Even now, I feel like I'm dreaming. They are so lovely, so nice. My host Mother is caring, kind and very happy. She loves to sing and dance. I spent 2 hours with only her and myself at home, she showed me her dances and singing, which is her passion. She is very cute and happy, somewhat like my Mother in New Zealand. The host Father was much more calm and quiet than I thought. But when he talks about what he loves, Chinese medicine, he becomes a child. Because I was sick on the first 2 weeks, I think I was able to get closer to him quickly since he was able to give me all sort of medicines. My host Brother, Yu Xuan seemed very quiet at school, but at home, he is like an ordinary teenager. He spends most his time on the computer playing games and watching anime. I sit next to him and watch him most of the time too. His parents come to him and scolds at him, saying you should study, do your homework. I feel like I saw this scene before... Like very often... (It's like me when I'm in New Zealand). On the first week, I didn't go out because I was pretty sick. But on the second week, I went around everywhere with my host Mother and Yu Xuan. We went to the Zheng Zhou Zoo, which I loved a lot. I don't have memories of the Zoo because I was too young when I went the last time. I haven't even been to the Auckland Zoo. We walked around the zoo for 3 whole hours, it was so much fun. I got to see animals like Tigers, Lions, Zebras, Bears, Gorillas, Monkeys, Wolves, Elephants, Fishes, Seals, Kangaroos, Hippos... Everything. The 3 hours went past real quick. After the zoo, we went to Er Qi (二七) Square, which is known as the biggest and most popular shopping street in Zheng Zhou. I bought clothes (I spent to much money ;A;) and bought part of my Sister's birthday present. It was similar to the shopping street I went in Shanghai. I love shopping streets, where there are lots to buy and see, but there are too many people in China! I can't get used to it. That day, we ate dinner out. Yu Xuan told me that we are going to go eat sushi, so I was so happy. I even forgot how tired my legs were for walking around for more than 6 hours, because I was so excited for Japanese food. But the excitement didn't last long. When we entered the food street, the street was filled with... Korean restaurants. All my favourite foods... I really missed Korean food, so I started to feel a bit down because I felt sorry to tell my host Mother and Yu Xuan that I wanted Korean food. So I just entered the Japanese restaurant without saying anything. I ordered Udon, but the food that I was given had white soup, with soba noodles. It made me feel even more down. I don't know if it was because of the Korean restaurants outside, but the food didn't taste so great. Maybe the restaurant was just bad. But I've never been to a sushi train restaurant, so I took many pictures and videos. We returned home on a bus. On the way home, I got to call Yu Xuan's sister (I didn't even know that he had one!). She said that she majors in Accounting in an University. She was very fluent at English. I wish I could meet her before I leave. When I returned home, I slept until 10am on the next day. Since I adapted to this environment completely, I'm starting to feel bored some times. I hope the package that my family sent from New Zealand comes quickly. I want to play on my Nintendo! The school classes are comfortable now. I'm still making new friends. My Chinese friends got me a school uniform! Now I can camouflage 100% into the Chinese students. I feel like the rest of the time I have left, the 2 months and 2 weeks will go really quickly. I miss my family in New Zealand! I want to eat food from home.

이제 벌써 중국에서 지낸지도 2주 좀 넘었다. 호스트 패밀리도 만나고, 이제 진짜 안정된 시간을 보내는거 같다. 정저우에 도착한지 4일째, 난 유슈엔 (호스트 브라더) 와 날 3개월의 주말 동안 맡아줄 가족을 만나러 갔다. 첫인상은 뭐랄까, 사진 한장으로만 보던 사람들이 실제로 움직이고, 나에게 인사하며 친절하게 대해주는게 뭔가 연예인을 만나는 기분이었다. 호스트 엄마는 매우 착하시고, 손도 크신, 흥이 매우 많은 분이시다. 첫 날에 2시간 동안 둘 만 집에 남았었는데, 그 동안 자신이 배우고 있다는 춤과 노래도 보여주셨다. 뭔가 굉장히 귀여우시고, 밝으신게 뉴질랜드에 계신 우리 엄마 같았다. 호스트 아빠는 생각보다 조용하시지만, 자신이 좋아하는 중국 약과 한의술 얘기 하실땐 매우 적극적이시다. 아마 내가 처음 만났을때 아직 감기 때문에 고생을 해서 더 빨리 친해진게 아닌가 싶다. 내가 아프니깐 약도 이것 저것 챙겨주시고 (정말 많이 먹었다), 감기와 성장에 좋다는 곳도 짚어 주시고 했다. 유슈엔은 학교에선 뭔가 키도 크고, 말도 없고 해서 좀 조용한 아이인줄 알았지만, 역시 자기 엄마 아빠 앞에선 애가 되는거 같다. 집에 오면 하루종일 컴퓨터 게임, 애니메이션만 본다. 물론 나도 보지만. 그러고 앉아있으면 호스트 엄마와 아빠가 와서 혼을 내신다. 숙제 좀 해라, 공부 좀 해라, 일찍 좀 자라. 뭔가 익숙한 관경... 전형적인 청소년이다. 호스트 가족과 보낸 첫 주엔 아무것도 안 했다. 내가 좀 많이 아파서. 집에서 약을 끼고 티비만 봤다는... 둘째 주 는 호스트 엄마와, 유슈엔과 여러군데 돌아다녔다. 아침엔 정저우 동물원에 가서 3시간 동안 돌아다녔다. 마지막으로 동물원을 간게 매우 오래전이라 기억도 안 났는데, 오랜만에 가니깐 너무 좋았다. 호랑이, 사자, 곰, 기린, 코끼리, 원숭이, 고릴라, 물고기, 물범, 타조, 캥거루, 얼룩말, 하마, 늑대, 사막여우... 정말 볼건 다 본거 같다. 3시간이 금방 지나간거 같다. 그 후 지하철을 타고 정저우에서 제일 크고, 유명하다는 Er Qi (二七) 광장을 다녀왔다. 가서 옷도 사고 (돈을 너무 많이 썼다 ㅜㅜ), 지우 생일 선물의 일부도 샀다. 상하이에서 갔던 그 거리와 매우 비슷했다. 난 그렇게 쇼핑도 하고, 볼것도 많은 곳이 좋다. 사람이 너무 많아서 조금 힘들지만, 재미있다. 그 날, 저녁도 밖에서 먹었다. 유슈엔이 일본 초밥을 먹으러 간다고 해서 너무 기분이 좋았다. 아니, 좋았었다. 오랜만에 좋아하는 일식을 먹는다는 생각에 들떠서 다리가 피곤하는 것도 잊고 열심히 갔다. 하지만 식당들이 많이 있는 골목에 들어가니, 코리안 타운인 마냥 한국 식당들만 쭉 있었다. 고기, 떡볶이, 떡갈비... 정말 한동안 먹고 싶었던 것들은 다 모아놓은거 처럼, 다 있었다. 하지만 이미 초밥집에 간다고 해서, 한국 음식이 먹고 싶다는 말도 못 하고 초밥집으로 들어갔다. 한국 음식들은 본 후여서 그런지, 아니면 그냥 그 집 음식이 별로인건지, 그다지 맛이 없었다. 우동을 시켰지만 허연 국물에 메밀면... 기분이 안 좋아졌다. 하지만 회전 초밥 집은 처음 인지라, 신기해서 사진도 많이 찍었다. 버스를 타고 집에 돌아갔다. 가는 길, 유슈엔의 누나 (있는지도 몰랐다!) 와 통화를 했다. 대학에서 회계를 전공하고 있다고 했다. 역시 대학생이라 그런지 영어도 잘 하고, 목소리 밖에 못 들었지만 밝은 사람 같았다. 3개월이 다 가기 전에 한번 만나보고 싶다. 집에 돌아가선 아주 푹, 다음날 10시 까지 잤다. 어느 정도 익숙한 나날들을 보내자니, 조금은 심심해 지고 있다. 뉴질랜드에 있는 가족이 보낸 소포가 얼른 왔으면 좋겠다, 닌텐도 하고 싶다! 학교에서의 수업들도 이제 편해지고, 친구들도 많아지고 있다. 친구들이 나에게 교복을 구해다 줬다. 이제 100% 중국 학생 같다. 남은 2개월 반이 금방 갈거 같다. 아, 뉴질랜드에 있는 가족들 보고 싶다! 집밥도 먹고 싶다.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page